Locking fields during the creation of an event affects the way event information can be modified after it is published by the Store Manager or other Admins.
When creating an event in Brickwork, you will notice that almost every field has a lock icon:
The lock icon can only be turned on and off by corporate users before an event is published.
- If you are creating an event that will be tied to more than one store, it is important to lock all fields before publishing the event unless you would like individual store managers to update certain fields. For example, if I wanted all stores hosting an event to update the time of the event, I would leave that field unlocked.
- If you leave a field unlocked during publish and then try to go in and update that field at the corporate level later on, the changes will NOT be reflected in the individual stores. The system has created an individual event for each store; therefore, you must change event data on the store level one by one.
- If fields were not locked:
- Fields can only be changed at the store level, and must be done at each individual store if the event was assigned to more than one. Event data cannot be changed at the corporate level. Store Managers have the ability to edit event data themselves.
- If fields were locked:
- Fields can be changed at a later date from the corporate level and edits will be reflected in all stores that this event was assigned to. There is no need to individually change the events for each store. Store Managers will never be able to edit any event details.
What if I created an event without locking a field and then wanted to edit that information?
If the event is at several stores, you will need to click into each individual store's event page to edit/update the field. Alternatively, if you forgot to lock the field and have too many stores to individually modify, you can create a new event (with locked fields) and cancel the existing one.